

Success...each life...each day...each hour

College Station Independent School District Board Workshop August 15, 2017 5:00 p.m. Board Room

A. CALL TO ORDER President Valerie Jochen called the meeting to order at 5:01 p.m.

B. DECLARATION OF QUORUM

President Jochen declared a quorum with six members present. In attendance were President Valerie Jochen, Vice President Jeff Harris, Secretary Carol Barrett, Trustee Mike Nugent, Trustee Michael Schaefer and Trustee Michael Wesson. Trustee Quinn Williams was not in attendance.

- C. WORKSHOP SESSION
 - 1. Consideration, discussion and possible action related to the 2017-18 budget Deputy Superintendent/CFO Mike Martindale reviewed the 2017-18 proposed budget.
 - Consideration, discussion and possible action related to 2017 state and community based accountability ratings Molley Perry, Executive Director for Special Services and Accountability, reviewed the <u>2017 state</u> and <u>community based</u> accountability ratings.
 - Consideration, discussion and possible action related to becoming an Innovation District
 Penny Tramel, CAO, reviewed the process necessary to begin discussion on the possibility of applying to become a <u>District of Innovation</u>.
 - 4. Consideration, discussion and possible action related to <u>middle school branding</u> Clark Ealy, Superintendent, began the discussion with the Board regarding branding the middle schools in anticipation of full buildout numbers for three comprehensive high schools and four middle schools. Discussion occurred.
- D. ADJOURN

Without objection, President Jochen adjourned the meeting at 6:29 p.m.

VALERIE JOCHEN BOARD PRESIDENT

The Board of Trustees reserves the right to go into executive session in accordance with Section 551.071 through 551.084 of the Texas Government Code to discuss any item (s) it is authorized to discuss in executive session in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act. Any necessary Board action related to such item(s) will be taken in open session following executive session.

VJ/ch

VALERIE JOCHEN – President

CAROL BARRETT - Secretary