College Station Independent School District

Special Meeting Minutes

November 12, 2014 11:45 a.m.

Administrative Conference Room



A.             CALL TO ORDER

President Valerie Jochen called the meeting to order at 11:53 a.m.


Two members were present President Valerie Jochen and Secretary Jeff Harris. Only two members are needed for a quorum for a canvassing meeting per Texas Election Code Section 67.004 (a). Vice-President Paul Dorsett, Trustees Carol Barrett, Kimberly McAdams, Quinn Williams and Michael Wesson were not in attendance.


1.    Consider approval of an Order Canvassing Election Returns related to the Candidate Election

Superintendent Clark Ealy recognized Cari Horn, Election Coordinator for College Station ISD who read the official results of the November 4, 2014 election into the record. Candidate for Place 6 Michael Schaefer received 6,061 votes for 57.27%. Incumbent Kimberly McAdams received 4,522 votes for 42.73%. Michael Schaefer was elected to the Board of Trustees with 57.27% of the votes. Incumbent for Place 7 Valerie Jochen received 9,215 votes for 58.53%. Valerie Jochen was re-elected to the Board of Trustees with 58.53% of the votes.


MOTION 4513: I move approval of the order canvassing the election returns related to the Candidate Election as presented. The motion was made by Secretary Jeff Harris and seconded by President Valerie Jochen. The motion passed with two ayes and zeros nos.


D.            ADJOURN

Without objection, President Valerie Jochen adjourned the meeting at 11:59 a.m.








The Board of Trustees reserves the right to go into executive session in accordance with Section 551.071 through 551.084 of the Texas Government Code to discuss any item (s) it is authorized to discuss in executive session in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act. Any necessary Board action related to such item(s) will be taken in open session following executive session.




____________________________ __________________________